Archive for the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal Category

[Saxon] – Lionheart

Posted in New Wave Of British Heavy Metal with tags on February 14, 2009 by scythlord

Release date: 20 September 2004
Band: Saxon
Album: Lionheart
Genre: New Wave Of British Heavy Metal
Type: Full Length


  1. Witchfinder General
  2. Man And Machine
  3. The Return
  4. Lionheart
  5. Beyond The Grave
  6. Justice
  7. To Live By The Sword
  8. Jack Tars
  9. English Man ‘O’ War
  10. Searching For Atlantis
  11. Flying On The Edge

{MP3} 74 Megabytes



Metalstorm Review:
What a long story, what a long story that the one of this fantastic combo made in England, Saxon. Biff and his guys are back in town this year with their new release, “Lionheart” and if you’re a fan of this kind of music, no doubt that this album will have to finish in your nice CD collection. If their last album, “Killing Ground” was not the best of their long career, I must admit that this time with the new one that’s definitely not same. “Lionheart” the new album of Saxon is without any doubt a must have in the style.

I don’t think that I need to present you a lot the music of the band. But if you don’t know them again, you must know that Saxon and Iron Maiden are the 2 only really productive survivors of the N.W.O.B.H.M. [New Wave of British Heavy Metal] .Understand that with Saxon you have a very melodic Heavy Metal, this kind of songs which enter in your head and can’t go out, this kind of perfect music for the shows. In one word something catchy.
And “Lionheart” that’s not a surprise, follow the rule, this time again you could find 11 tracks of pure great and singing Heavy Metal in the pure tradition of the band. I could describe all the songs of the album, but seriously, when you see that the majority of the tracks are potential hit single, is it really an obligation for me to do that? No, no need to do that but you’ll have to remember that songs like “Witchfinder General” and his powerful tempo with its catchy chorus is a real killer or that a song like the very melodic “Lionheart” is just a masterpiece. In fact during all the album, you could listen to a lot of great songs, really this time Saxon did something classy.
The lyrics of the album talk again about knights, kings and all this kind of stuffs, [that’s an habit with the band]. Some of you like that, some others will hate it, but well that’s Saxon and with a name like that you can’t expect to have Doom or Gothic lyrics. Well that’s not a big deal, because this is well written, and then in that case that’s not a real problem.
About the musicians, here again I can’t say anything wrong about them, Biff is always a damn great singer, Paul Quinn , and Doug Scarratt are always two great guitarists, that’s same for Nibbs Carter with his bass, and when I add that the drummer of the band is now Mr Jörg Michael, I suppose that you understand that’s it’s hard to say something wrong about them…
The production of this album is perfect too, a simple but great cover, and of course a sound that only this kind of bands can have. The perfection…

Saxon is back and not for nothing, “Lionheart” is a great album of Heavy. I saw the band in live this summer and damn I understand why they are always able to do this kind of album, they believe in this music and live for it that’s all…
If you’re a fan of the band or not, you just have to love true Heavy Metal and in that case you can go to your CD shop to buy this excellent release of Metal. With “Lionheart” Saxon shows us again that they are the kings of Heavy Metal.